Walking out of the Vet with an Empty Cat Carrier

Yesterday was not such a great day. One of the two cats my family adopted back when I was in high school passed away today. Rascal was a wonderful cat who had our family the moment she stepped out of a cat carrier with her pink nose and white mittens some 13 years ago in a pet supply store slash informal adoption operation in Holland Landing. Before that, she had been living with her brother and sister and some 50 other cats in some guy’s trailer. I know that people don’t read this blog to get a feline version of Marley & Me so I’ll spare you details of her life and only say that Rascal was the ideal cat, stubborn yet affectionate, sleeping in a window one minute, tearing through hallways the next. Since my parents had moved out of the province she had been living with my brother. He was the one who called me Friday at lunch to tell me that she was not doing so well – I made it through work but I was there at his place with my wife to see her. Since life is sort of shitty and random sometimes, my brother was also moving yesterday, so my wife and I volunteered to take her to the vet. 

I really can’t write a lot more at this point, other than to highlight that she was adopted from a bad situation, there are lots of other cats needing that.

10 responses to “Walking out of the Vet with an Empty Cat Carrier

  1. Och, I’m sorry to read this, More Notes. Your title speaks volumes — people will know that feeling at once, the empty carrier that says more than we can find words for.

    You know how many animals never have the chance that Rascal had. Be glad that you all made her life so good.

    Hugs.

  2. I can relate to your sad feelings – empty carrier. She had a great life – and more.

  3. My heart sank as soon as I saw this title.

    I am truly sorry for your loss.

  4. Aww, thanks all of you 🙂 My wife sort of had the same sentiment, that we could know that she had a good life and that through all of it she was surrounded by those who loved her.

  5. I guess grief is ultimately the price we pay for the privilege of loving them, but it’s very sad. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  6. So sorry to hear about this and I know how you feel. My cat has a sort of stroke in February and lost power to his legs, so we put him to sleep. He was 14 and had the most beautiful disposition.

    You feel so empty for a while.

    Sounds like your cat was very lucky to have caring people like you.

  7. The title of this post caught my attention. I’m sorry to hear about your cat. I do hope you heal from this event soon.

  8. I am so sorry. I also lost a cat this last year. I had two, brother and sister and for reasons I will never know the sister died cureled up under a bed while I was out of the house one day. I curled up on the couch in tears for two days with her brother. It’s so sad to lose a dear pet.

  9. I’m so sorry to hear about your cat. There are so many cats that don’t get the chance they deserve and my own cats are rescue cats – and somehow they just give you extra affection in return. At least Rascal had the love and affection that she deserved.

  10. Sorry to hear about Rascal, I know how distressing the loss of a pet can be. Its good to know you gave Rascal such a great life by adopting her. Rest in the knowledge if it were not for your family she could have spent a much worse life.

Leave a comment